This course is designed to give students the skills required of coxswains and boat handlers and to ensure they are competent in the techniques and procedures appropriate to the needs of rescue response craft operating in floodwater, rivers and lakes.

The power boat rescue environment is potentially a very hazardous one. To operate safely and effectively requires boat operators and crews to have a good understanding of the operating environment and sound boat handling skills. This course aims to provide personnel with the knowledge and skills to handle a rescue boat in a range of water conditions, and includes moving water as a component of the course.


Pre-requisites

This course builds additional skills on those already developed during RYA Powerboat Level 2 and water rescue technician courses. Please ensure that you provide and then bring with you a copy of your RYA Level 2 Power Boat certificate and a copy of your water rescue technician one certification or equivalent

Although you will be taught various skills on the course, some pre-course practice of simple skills to refresh your own capability will help you get the most out of the course. Water rescue technician and power boat skills to RYA powerboat level 2 are considered a fundamental skill level.


The Course

This programme is delivered through SEA TRAINING INTERNATIONAL.

The course will emphasise the safe operation of rescue boats in a variety of water environments. It builds on RYA powerboat level 2 and water rescue technician skills and develops the ways that boats may be able to assist in water rescues. The instructing staff are experienced boat operators and you will be using a range of equipment that you are likely to encounter as part of a rescue boat response in the UK.

The course has some classroom based learning but the majority of time is spent on the water developing practical skills in a variety of settings. Scenario based application of these skills occurs later in the course and includes time spent operating boats at night. The classroom based sessions will provide working level knowledge of subjects useful for a boat operator. In addition you will be required to read material as part of your course.

The main water venue is the Menai Straits, usually operating between Port Dinorwic (Y Felinheli) and Menai Bridge. The water flows that will be experienced vary from being still or flat water to fast moving swift water environments. As a student you will be required to show a progress of knowledge, skills and their application throughout the course in a range of water conditions.


Course Certification
& Coventry University

There are options on successful completion of this course to register it towards a Coventry University Diploma / Certificate in Specialist Rescue (subject to an additional assignment) or contribution towards other higher education awards. Further information will be provided at commencement of the course.

To obtain a full module descriptor in advance visit the below website and navigate to: CU Portal » Module Information Directory » Business, Environment and Society » Geography, Environmental Science and Disaster Management » Get Modules. Then click on 263GED for full diploma module information or 271GED for a Certificate module.


For more information Call 01248 601 546
or email enquiries@outreachrescue.com

AT A GLANCE

Powered Boat for Rescue Response

Code:  YBPR
Days:  4
Course:  £980
Course with food & accommodation: £1170

Reassessment
Code:  YBPR-R
Days:  3
Course:  £682
Course with food & accommodation: £820

Dates & prices

YBPR - 4 Days
2018
Mon 10 - Thur 14 Sept
Mon 08 - Thur 11 Oct

2019
Mon 21 - Thur 24 Jan
Mon 18 - Thur 21 Feb
Mon 18 - Thur 21 Mar
Mon 30 Sept - Thur 3 Oct
Mon 11 - Thur 14 Nov
Mon 25 - Thur 28 Nov

YBPR-R - 3 Days
Wed 24 - Fri 26 Oct
Wed 21 - Fri 23 Nov

YPBRF - 3 Days

2019
Mon 7 - Wed 9 Jan
Mon 4 - Wed 6 Feb
Tues 5 - Thurs 7 Mar
Wed 3 - Fri 5 April
Tues 16 - Thur 18 April
Wed 5 - Fri 7 June
Wed 3 - Fri 5 July
Wed 31 July - Fri 2 Aug
Mon 2 - Wed 4 Sept
Wed 11 - Fri 13 Dec